Procrastinating, Time flies either way

·

2 min read

I have always been a Writer. Short stories, poems, technical articles, and many more. I have always loved writing. Sometime last year, I opened a blog here on Hashnode and decided I'd begin technical writing, I had been writing prose and poetry for over 5 years prior to that, and I had taken some courses on how to be a good technical writer and I felt that I was ready. I wrote my first article and was really proud of myself. I wrote a couple more, and that was it. Laziness, excuses, and procrastination grew on me. I started to have valid reasons as to why I couldn't write, why I should do it later, or why it didn't matter at that moment. Here are some of the absolutely valid reasons I had:

  1. I have nothing to say; This was the most recurrent and convincing. Telling myself that I did not know enough to write or guide or tutor people.

  2. Everything has been said, there is nothing new under the sun. However somewhat true this may sound, it was highly fallacious and would mean that content creators should stop creating. Huge deceit.

  3. I really don't have the time; This was genuinely valid, but at the same time, I had time for other activities that were of low value.

These and many more were reasons I used to avoid writing for so long. I also had the habit of overcompensating myself. If I do just a little strenuous work, I'd think, oh yes! I deserve XYZ and it would usually be in excess.

Even right now, writing this, kicking off my consistency in technical writing, I cannot completely guarantee that I would do excellently, but I do know that I would do my very best to be consistent.

def beConsistent:
       if new_day:
            write()
       beConsistent()

So, if you are reading this, I invite you to come to partake, come write, read, learn or do whatever thing you want to do, with me. Come let's be consistent.

Thank you for reading, see you shortly.